Life With Restrictions: A Visual Response…

July 2020: Cleethorpes

I am reunited with my hometown, Cleethorpes. I have been here for one month after a very long absence and under the strangest of circumstances. Details are unnecessary. The month of July has seen a chaotic and confusing lifting of some lockdown restrictions. I headed for the beach most days, usually at either sunrise or sunset.

July 2020: Cleethorpes
July 2020: Cleethorpes

My photographs are sparsely populated. In the mornings I share the place with joggers, keep fit enthusiasts and their personal trainers, dog walkers, the odd photographer and those who simply sit and watch the spectacle of sunrise in silent reverie.

July 2020: Cleethorpes

The evenings are slightly busier with the addition of fish and chip shop queues, skateboarders, pub crawlers and those who simply want to make the most of their day out. Sunrise watchers are replaced with those who can enjoy the sunset over the outline of what remains of Grimsby Docks further down-river. The odd detectorist scans the beach for treasure.

July 2020: Cleethorpes
July 2020: Cleethorpes

During the day, particularly if the weather is fine, Cleethorpes remains busy. Not as busy as would be expected under normal circumstances, but busy enough. I have photographs but I am not showing them to you!

July 2020: Cleethorpes
July 2020: Cleethorpes

I have always considered photography to be a very solitary occupation. I have enjoyed days out with a buddy or two, but at the end of the day I am trying to make sense of my world – by myself. Forty-five years of it have taught me a thing or two.

I anticipate the path of an approaching roller skater.

July 2020: Cleethorpes

All photographs were made using an Olympus camera. Many thanks for looking at my blog.

4 thoughts on “Life With Restrictions: A Visual Response…

  1. Nic, as always, your images really capture the spirit and mood of the scene. I love the narrative that you intertwine as I scroll through your blog. Wonderful! Richard

    On Sun, Aug 2, 2020 at 2:08 PM nic salmon’s notes in passing wrote:

    > nictheclic posted: ” July 2020: Cleethorpes I am reunited with my > hometown, Cleethorpes. I have been here for one month after a very long > absence and under the strangest of circumstances. Details are unnecessary. > The month of July has seen a chaotic and confusing lifting ” >

    Like

Leave a comment